Godless Grad Student

news and reflections from an active atheist and disabled graduate student

Terra Cotta Warriors Exhibit

leave a comment »

I just got back from the Terra Cotta Warrior exhibit at the National Geographic Museum in DC.  I lead a group with Beltway Atheists.  Fortunately we had group tickets – several people were very disappointed to not be able to buy tickets at the museum.

It was an ordeal getting to the museum.  I usually try to avoid taking the Metro because elevators are often out of service.  However there is no place to park in DC… so I checked the WMATA site before I left.  Nevertheless, the elevator was out when I arrived at the station.  I went back to my car and drove into the city.  I just happened to find a parking space on the street!

One I met up with the group, passed out tickets, and got inside myself, I really enjoyed it.  It was crowded (apparently they let in 150 people in each time slot) but after the first small room it became easier to maneuver around the crowd – also, one of the Beltway Atheists members gave me her audio tour device.  I had read the website in detail but there was still a lot to learn.  I specifically noticed how thick the warriors legs were (presumably to hold their weight.)  It sounds obvious, but it wasn’t something I was expecting.

I didn’t notice anything about how the religious beliefs (specifically in regards to afterlife) developed.  I know fear of death and the idea of the afterlife has surfaced in religion but this belief was just so extensive that I wonder how it became so complex.  On a side note, Christopher and I had an interesting conversation about Ancient Egyptian belief of the afterlife.

Afterward, a few of us went to Potbelly Sandwich Works… It seems to be much less complicated for me to just pick a restaurant rather than asking members to choose that morning.

Written by godlessgradstudent

January 17, 2010 at 4:42 pm

Leave a Reply

